The Cooper Building/Rogers Block, renamed The Woodward Annex, was built in 1884. It was constructed and owned by Charles Gray "C. G." Cooper, of the locally prominent Cooper family, as Trustee to the late Colonel George Rogers, of Civil War fame. The Coopers owned a local industrial firm, which primarily manufactured steam engines. This company has since become Cooper Industries, one of the leading international companies in engine and electrical motor manufacturing.
Colonel Rogers bought the property in 1882 to build a new mercantile building. The previous wood frame buildings were in extreme disrepair and valueless. Sadly, Colonel Rogers died before construction began. In his will, Rogers made his brother-in-law and business partner, C. G. Cooper, Trustee of his estate and guardian of his wife and daughter. When construction finally began in 1884, it was done under the direction of Cooper. Although many referred to the building as the Rogers Block in honor of Colonel Rogers, ultimately the name Cooper Building stuck, as it was C. G. Cooper who made its construction happen.
The Annex's iconic triple gable parapets were were structurally damaged from a fire in a neighboring building sometime in the late-1940s or early 1950s, and were removed. These gables will be reconstructed to bring the building back to its original Gothic Revival appearance.